All Game of the Year (GOTY) winners in Game Awards history

The Game Awards 2021 are here. After a year marked by the pandemic which prevented the event from being held in person – it was a digital connection with three different cities – the most high profile awards gala in the video game industry is being held at dawn from Thursday December 9 to Friday December 10. with the aim of celebrating excellence in the world of video games. And yes, this year we will meet the GOTY, among many other categories. Nevertheless What were the GOTYs from previous editions? We review all the winners of the event under this name, from its origins to 2020.

You may be interested in:

  • Everything about the Game Awards 2021: date, time, duration, games and nominees
  • The Game Awards 2021 reveal all nominees by category; Complete list
  • The Game Awards 2021: schedule and how to stream online

A little history on the Game Awards

The first thing to clarify is that The rewards of the gameAs such, it exists since 2014. Previously, since 2003 and until the edition which took place in 2013, they were VGA tip (who became the VGX tip), but the format did not finish taking off, did not have the support and repercussion that year and, after a decline in both audience and economic profitability, Spike TV went withdrawn from the fight to seize this equivalent of the Oscars of the video game.

This is where the name of Geoff Keighley comes into play, a journalist with television experience and whose participation in Spike VGA led him to lead himself the evolution of the format, which would not only change its name but also acquire packaging from another category, added to the fight for exclusives, brands and luxury guests. Make it a show that no video game fan should miss.

Whether it was successful or not is subjective, as well as whether we agree on which video game wins the award in each category. What is clear is that the Game Awards have gained weight over the years, there are tens of millions of people following the gala every year and, to make matters worse, the number of world premieres or world exclusives grow exponentially. Names like The Witcher 3, Uncharted 4, Mario Maker, Bloodborne, The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, SoulCalibur VI, Crash Team Racing: Nitro-Fueled, Devil May Cry 5, The Outer Worlds and countless others y were presented. . or they offered news of great importance to their studies. Without going any further, in 2019 the Xbox Series X came out in style. What awaits us this year 2021? We’ll find out in a few hours.

All Game Awards winners (2003-2020)

Nominated for Best game of the year 2021 are the following: Death loop, It takes two, Terror Metroid, Psychonauts 2, Ratchet & Clank: Rift apart Yes Resident Evil Village. In previous editions, here are the winners:

VGA tip / VGX tip

  • 2003 – Madden NFL 2004
  • 2004 – GTA San Andreas
  • 2005 – Resident Evil 5
  • 2006 – TES IV: Forgetting
  • 2007 – Biochoc
  • 2008 – Grand Theft Auto IV
  • 2009 – Uncharted 2
  • 2010 – Red Dead Redemption
  • 2011 – TES V: Skyrim
  • 2012 – The Living Dead
  • 2013 – Grand Theft Auto V

The rewards of the game

  • 2014 – Dragon Age: Inquisition
  • 2015 – The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt
  • 2016 – Monitoring
  • 2017 – The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild
  • 2018 – God of War
  • 2019 – Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
  • 2020 – The Last of Us Part II


Source of the article

Disclaimer: This article is generated from the feed and not edited by our team.