Lois DC, Md. And Va. coming into force in 2022

New Years Day is more than a change of calendar in Washington, Maryland and Virginia, as several laws will come into effect in 2022.

New Years Day is more than a change of calendar in Washington, Maryland and Virginia, as several laws will come into effect in 2022.


CC

DC residents can expect reduced noise from grounds maintenance. A ban on the sale and use of gasoline leaf blowers will begin Jan. 1, with fines of up to $ 500 for those using the banned blowers.

Restaurants will be banned from distribution of disposable items, such as napkins, utensils, and condiments unless customers request them or use a self-service area.

Meanwhile, on January 15, vaccines will be required to enter DC establishments, including nightclubs and restaurants.

Maryland

Maryland’s minimum wage rate will drop to $ 12.50 for employers with 15 or more employees.

The Maryland Board of Physicians will require a license for genetic counselors and set up a committee of professionals.

State residents who decide to become organ donors will be able to decide whether they want their organs donated for research and education or transplantation and therapy.

Excessive medical debt protections for low-income residents will begin in 2022 according to the law and protect patients earning 200% or less than the federal poverty line, about $ 53,000 for a family of four, reported the ‘Associated Press.

The state Department of Health will be required to provide residents with information materials for help residents plan for long-term care. The law requires that published material be ready by April 1 and available in English, Spanish and any other requested languages. It also requires that the material be accessible to people with low literacy skills.

Montgomery County, Maryland

The Ezechiel law will oblige homeowners to install window guards in residences where children aged 10 and under live or at the request of a tenant. The bill was passed after 2-year-old Ezechiel Nguemezi fell from a third-story window and died in a building in Takoma Park.

On January 12, the county attorney will be required to submit an annual report summarizing the details of each settlement reached by the county. These settlement agreements will then be posted on the county’s website and will apply to all agencies in the county and include the police department.

Virginia

The state’s minimum hourly wage will drop to $ 11 an hour effective January 1.

Starting in January, a resident of Virginia who does not have legal documents will be able to obtain a special identity card through the motor vehicle department – including children. In 2021, they obtained eligibility driver privilege cards.

Alexandria, Arlington County and Fairfax County instituted a 5-cent tax on disposable plastic bags that will take effect Jan. 1. The money will fund environmental cleanup and education.

All municipal elections for school boards and city councils in Virginia will be postponed from May until November for the elections after New Years Day.

The owners are aware that their property is a ‘repetitive risk loss structure’“- any home with two or more claims over $ 1,000 paid by the National Flood Insurance Program since 1978 – must disclose that fact to a buyer and provide forms to the real estate board.

NBC Washington reported that local school boards must create and adopt policies so that school employees can administer albuterol inhalers students who are “considered in good faith to be in need of such drugs”. The law would exempt those who administer the drug from liability. Students will also be able to own and use their own “inhaled asthma medication or self-injectable epinephrine”.

NBC Washington also reported that liability insurance coverage amounts would increase from $ 25,000 to $ 30,000 in “personal injury or death cases” and from $ 50,000 to $ 60,000 in cases of personal injury or death. “cases of bodily injury or death of two or more persons”. More details are available here on the state government website.

Virginia’s public colleges and universities can no longer apply criminal history questions in admission documents and applications. They also cannot use third-party admission documents to deny a person’s admission based on their criminal history. There are exceptions to this law: the Virginia Military Institute and public law schools accredited by the American Bar Association. Universities can still ask questions about criminal history after a candidate receives an offer and can cancel offers if they determine someone is a security risk.

OMPP’s Ivy Lyons, Matt Small, Shayna Estulin, Jessica Kronzer and The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Like WTOP on Facebook and follow WTOP on Twitter and Instagram to strike up a conversation about this and other articles.

Get the latest news and daily headlines delivered to your inbox by signing up here.

© 2022 OMCP. All rights reserved. This website is not intended for users located in the European Economic Area.